» Danish

The Spring Exhibition 201224 February - 6 May 2012

The Spring Exhibition is an open submission exhibition that has long been one of the highlights of the annual programme at Charlottenborg. In 2012 the show features 69 participants from around the world, including many from Denmark and Northern Europe, as well as others from countries such as South Africa and the USA. The exhibited works cover a wide variety of genres associated with art and design, and this year’s exhibition includes a notable group of works that explores the body, performance and sexuality. One such work, entitled The Humping Pact, by Dmitry Paranyushkin (RU) & Diego Agullo (ES) included a special performance with naked men, staged on the opening night of the exhibition.

» View photos

The jury for the 2012 exhibition also notes that a number of pieces in the show have a preoccupation with ethnicity and cultural history, while another tendency is the strong strand of sculptural work. Exemplifying both tendencies, Gilles T. Lacombe (FR) is showing a giant model of an elephant tusk that is hung like a phallus from the ceiling of Charlottenborg – a work created from the ivory of more than 4000 discarded piano keys. This monument also evokes a preoccupation with animism and history, seen in other works such as Sebastian Neubauer’s (DE) ‘do it yourself’ parody of the famous shark by Damien Hirst. The exhibition also features a large volume of video, with many works focusing on the intimate, fragile or even lonely aspects of contemporary life.

Participating artists
For the Spring Exhibition 2012 there were 715 applicants. 69 artists have been selected, including 66 first-time participants and a total of 92 works. The youngest artist was born in 1990 and the oldest in 1949. 31 artists come from Denmark, 15 from the rest of the Nordic region, 18 from other European countries, and 6 from other countries around the world. The participating artists are as follows:

Sofie Alsbo (DK), Claus Bjerre (DK), Tom Bogaert (JO / BE), Gitte Broeng (DK) & Mikkel Damsbo (DK), Ann Iren Buan (NO), Ben Carey (AU), Christina Schou Christensen (DK), Julie Clifforth (DK), Maria Dabow (DE), Øystein Dahlstrøm (NO), Gair Dunlop (GB), Gerhard Eckel (AT), Guðrún Einarsdóttir (IS) Pernille Feilberg (DK), Biba Fibiger (DK), Maria Franck (DK), David Gates (GB), Sara S. Glahn (DK), Marcie Miller Gross (US), Ásdís Gunnarsdóttir (IS), Anne Haaning (DK), Jonas Del Pin Hamilton (DK), Katrin Hanusch (DE), Kevin Hviid (DK), Jan Ijäs (FI), Björn Oskar Jönsson (DK, SE), Tali Keren (IL), Barbara Knezevic (IE), Inge Koenen (NL), Daisuke Kosugi (JP), Karen Lise Krabbe (DK), Katrine Kofoed Kristensen (DK), Gilles T. Lacombe (FR), Kristina Lindberg (SE), Nkule Mabaso (ZA), Dorte Marcussen (DK), Gemma Marmalade (GB), Caroline May (GB), Anders Scrmn Meisner (DK), Elin Melberg (NO), Carina Sveistrup Mikkelsen (DK), Nenad Milcevic (DK), Salla Myllylä (FI), Sebastian Neubauer (DE), Olof Nimar (SE), Johanne Oesterwang (DK), Dmitry Paranyushkin (RU) & Diego Agulló (ES), Alexander Arnild Peitersen (DK), John K. Raustein (NO), Tom Reynolds (GB), Anna Edit Ring (NO), Sean Rogg (GB), Ida Rödén (SE), Anna Samsøe (DK), Gro Sarauw (DK), Fons Schiedon (NL), Asako Sengoku (JP), Jens Settergren (DK), Nicholas Sparre-Ulrich (DK), Kari Steihaug (NO), David Stjernholm (DK), Külli Suitso (DK), Kristine Sundahl (DK) & Kalle Jørgensen (DK), Laila Svensgaard (DK), Hanne Mago Wiklund (SE) and Erik Östensson (SE).

Jury and prizes
The Spring Exhibition is selected by a jury consisting of artists and other arts professionals from Scandinavia and beyond. The jury for 2012 consists of the artists Aleksandra Mir (PO, SE, chair) and Lilibeth Cuenca Rasmussen (DK), the designer Henrik Vibskov (DK), the artist-architect duo Ben & Sebastian (UK-DK) and the curator Dorothée Kirch (DE).

As well as selecting the exhibitors the jury also nominated ten artists for a special jury award, the overall winner of which was announced on the opening night. The award comes with a cash prize of 10.000 kr. and the ten nominated artists are: Christina Schou Christensen (DK), Biba Fibiger (DK), Jan Ijäs (FI), Katrine Kofoed Kristensen (DK), Gilles T. Lacombe (FR), Nkule Mabaso (ZA), Dorte Marcussen (DK), Gemma Marmalade (GB), Nicholas Sparre-Ulrich (DK) and Kari Steihaug (NO).

This year’s exhibition also features an audience award, which will be decided by public vote and which will be announced at the Spring Party on 2 May, see  Eventdiary and see also Facebook

For additional information please contact:

Helle Westergård, Exhibitions Coordinator
Charlottenborg Fonden
T. +45 3311 11 91
E. info@charlottenborg-fonden.dk


The Spring Exhibition 2012

is sponsored by:

  • Statens Kunstråd
  • Knud Højgaards Fond,
  • Grosserer L. F. Foghts Fond
  • Aage & Johanne Louis-Hansens Fond
  • Nordea-Fonden
  • OCA - office of Contemporary Art Norway
  • Clarion Collection Hotel Neptun

The Jury Award 2012 granted by:
Helle & Arent Jacobsens Legat til fordel for unge kunstnere

A special thanks to:
Peter Lassen - MontanaMACsmall_Montana.jpg